SouthPole-sium v.4 & the U.K.
June 2019




LAUNCHED: February 20, 2019.       LAST UPDATED: May 6, 2019


Click here to read some commentary on the trip and to see some photos. (Will be up after the trip.)


Click here to see places on a Google map.


Accessed at least many times since 20 February 2019.


ROB'S ITINERARY (Tentative):

No Day Date Description/Activity/Location Notes At Night
1 Sunday 2 June Fly BOS-DUB Aer Lingus 138. Dep: 9:30pm Seat: ??. Total: $516.94. Booking No: 2CBGGN. Frequent Flyer: 3081471147344500. Ticket No: 0532434262545. Seq #: ??. Terminal: C. Contact No: Aer Lingus 1-800-223-6537. Take 3pm Boston Express bus to airport, arrive Logan at 4:20 pm. (Next bus: 5pm, arrive 6:35.) Have dinner. Phone: 1-800-639-8080.
On plane
2 Monday 3 June Arrive Dublin.

Joe & Barbara's 1/4
3 Tuesday 4 June Prepare for SouthPole-sium Joe & Barbara's 2/4
4 Wednesday 5 June Prepare for SouthPole-sium Joe & Barbara's 3/4
5 Thursday 6 June Prepare for SouthPole-sium Joe & Barbara's 4/4
6 Friday 7 June Dublin. Hibernian Club. Reception. SouthPole-sium Hibernian Club 1
7 Saturday 8 June Dublin. Hibernian Club. Sessions, Receptions, Banquet SouthPole-sium Hibernian Club 2
8Sunday 9 June All-day coach tour to Athy et al. SouthPole-sium Hibernian Club
9 Monday 10 June Recuperate Joe & Barbara's 1/1
10 Tuesday 11 June Leave for the UK Ferry Dublin to Holyhead, check-in closes 7:35am, depart 8:05am. Arrive 11:30am. €141.
Holyhead to Buxton = 134 miles
Old Hall Hotel, Buxton
11 Wednesday 12 June Travel in UK Buxton to Hull = 102 miles Hull
12 Thursday 13 June Travel in UK Hull to Sheringham = 144 miles Sheringham
13 Friday 14 June Travel to Colchester. Enter house at 5pm. Landmark Trust deposit 307 ($401.39) 2-19-2019
Final payment 604 ($802.34). 3-21-2019. Purchase ref: P214025. Total cost: $1,203.73
Peake's House 1/7
14 Saturday 15 June Peake's House 2/7
15 Sunday 16 June Peake's House 3/7
16 Monday 17 June Jim & Geraldine fly Belfast to Stansted. Dep 2:05pm, Arr 3:20pm; picked up by Joe & Rob Peake's House 4/7
17 Tuesday 18 June Peake's House 5/7
18 Wednesday 19 June Day in London
Service to London every few minutes in AM and nearly the same in evening.
Travel time about an hour. No changes.
Liverpool Street Station
Fare ranges $20-40 single.
www.thetrainline.com
Hakluyt Society AGM
Cordings
Naval Club
St James Press
Royal Bank of Scotland
National Maritime Museum, Greenwich
Maggs
Peake's House 6/7
19 Thursday 20 June Cambridge, et al Peake's House 7/7
20 Friday 21 June Leave house by 10am. Travel from Colchester.
Colchester to Whitby = 261 miles Whitby
21 Saturday 22 June Travel in UK Whitby to Kirkcudbright = 185 miles Kirkcudbright or Wigtown
22 Sunday 23 June Return to Ireland Wigtown to Cainryan = 30 miles
Kirkcudbright to Cainryan = 52 miles
All four of us by Ferry: Cairnryan, Scotland to Belfast. Stena Line Ref #: 81447996. Direct Ferries Ref #: DFP 126068735. Dep Cairryan 11:30am. Arr Belfast Terminal 4 1:45pm. Total cost: £224.
Joe & Barbara's 1/2
23 Monday 24 June Recuperate Joe & Barbara's 2/2
24 Tuesday 25 June Fly DUB-BOS. Aer Lingus 139. Terminal 2. Seat: ?. Dep: 4:20pm. Arr: 6:30pm.
Booking No: 2CBGGN. Frequent Flyer: 3081471147344500. Ticket No: 0532434262545 Contact No: Aer Lingus 1-800-223-6537.
To Dublin Airport from Joe's.
Boston Express. Dep: 7:25pm, 9:25pm. Last bus: 10:25pm
Jaffrey