Ireland and UK
October/November 2011




LAUNCHED: 27 June 2011.       LAST UPDATED: 25 October 2011


Click here to read some commentary on the trip and to see some photos. Will be up after the trip.



Accessed at least many times since 27 June 2011.



ITINERARY:

Day Date Description/Activity Location Notes
Wednesday 26 October Fly BOS-DUB. Aer Lingus Fl 136. Dep 6:20pm. Aer Lingus Record locator: 27IM4J. Orbitz Record Locator: AP1101017Y844DJR. Ticket #: 0538700011385-386 Drive from Jaffrey to Nashua. Park. Boston Express to Logan. 0
Thursday 27 October Arr Dublin. 5:20am At Joe O'Farrell's 1
Friday 28 October To Athy with Joe Carlton Abbey Hotel. 2
Saturday 29 October Shackleton Autumn School, Athy. Carlton Abbey Hotel. 3
Sunday 30 October Shackleton Autumn School, Athy. At Arthur and Carol's 4
Monday 31 October To Mullagh with Jonathan. Lakeview House. 5
Tuesday 1 November Mullagh Lakeview House. 6
Wednesday 2 November Mullagh Lakeview House. 7
Thursday 3 November To airport. Fly DUB-LON. Aer Lingus Fl 168. Dep 2:10pm Arr 3:25pm. Union Jack Club. Tel: 020 7902 6000 8
Friday 4 November Johnny Van Haeften @ 11am. British Library. Chelsea Book Fair (2-7). James Caird Society dinner @ 6pm. Union Jack Club. Tel: 020 7902 6000 9
Saturday 5 November London. Chelsea Book Fair (11-5). Queen's Gallery. Kensal Green cemetery. Union Jack Club. Tel: 020 7902 6000. Reservation #: 251612. Balance due: £190.50 10
Sunday 6 November London. Queen's Gallery. Kensal Green cemetery. Union Jack Club. Tel: 020 7902 6000 11
Monday 7 November Train to Winchester. Hampshire County Archives. Mill House 12
Tuesday 8 November Winchester. Possibly to Selborne, John Simper. Mill House 13
Wednesday 9 November Train to London, then Cambridge and SPRI. Warkworth House 14
Thursday 10 November Cambridge and SPRI. Warkworth House 15
Friday 11 November Cambridge/SPRI. Appt at Archives in pm. Warkworth House 16
Saturday 12 November Friends of SPRI AGM & dinner Warkworth House 17
Sunday 13 November To Mary's Mary's but still have Union Jack Club. Reservation 250858 18
Monday 14 November To London. 11am meet with Toby Cuthbertson. All last minute items. Union Jack Club. Reservation 250858 19
Tuesday 15 November To Gatwick. Fly LON-DUB. Aer Lingus Fl 235. Dep 10:50am. Arr 12:10pm. Fly DUB-BOS. Aer Lingus Fl 137. Dep 2pm. Arr 4:05pm. Boston Express to Nashua. Drive to Jaffrey. 20

FLIGHTS

7 August 2011: 26 Oct-3 Nov-14 Nov. $816. Aer Lingus all the way. As of 19 August: $821. Same price if depart on 25 or 27 Oct. As booked 24 August: $790. As of 9/11/11: $783.

TO DO IN LONDON
British Library (Reading Room closed Sunday); V&A art library (Closed Sun Mon); Christies/Sothebys/Bonhams catalogs; several LLAGs; Green plaque; RGS; Queens Gallery (open daily); Royal Society; Bank re deposits; Natl Archives Kew; Dinner with Bonham & Leggatt.

TO DO ELSEWHERE
Bowrings; Scilly; Buxton; Mill House; Selborne (leave to 2012); Oxford (Bodleian); Bedford (Cherry); several LLAGs; John Simper;