New Zealand & Australia
May-June 2010




LAUNCHED: 3 February 2010.       LAST UPDATED: 1 October 2010.


Click here to read some commentary on the trip and to see some photos.


Accessed at least many times since 3 February 2010.



ITINERARY:

(There is a less detailed itinerary at http://web.me.com/rs41/Australia/Itinerary.html)

Day Date Description/Activity Location Notes
Friday 30 April Jaffrey to Manchester thanks to Bill Driscoll.
" Fly Manchester-Sacramento via Dulles United #7176 Dep 2:22pm. Arr 4:05pm Dulles. United #291 Dep 4:45pm Arr 7:33pm Sacramento. Reservation No: UA/ZVRL8M
Saturday 1 May In Sacramento-Day 1 At Topher & Emily's.
Sunday 2 May In Sacramento-Day 2 At Topher & Emily's.
Monday 3 May Train. Sacramento to Oakland At Karen and Steve's. Train 535 Capitol Corridor. Dep 9:20am. Arr 11:18am $21.25. Reservation No: 079908. http://www.amtrak.com
Tuesday 4 May In Oakland-Day 1 At Karen and Steve's.
Wednesday 5 May Train. Oakland to Santa Barbara At John & Lucy's Train 11 Coast Starlight. Dep 8:50am. Arr 6:17pm $40.80. Reservation No: 079908. http://www.amtrak.com
Thursday 6 May In Santa Barbara-Day 1 At John & Lucy's
Friday 7 May In Santa Barbara-Day 2 At John & Lucy's Luci Edwards arrives in Auckland.
Saturday 8 May Fly LAX to Auckland Shuttle to Santa Monica. Possibly spend afternoon with Michael Rosove.
Meet up with Jo Heathcote, dinner, to the airport,
Qantas #26 Dep 11:45pm. Arr 7:30am 10 May.
Sunday 9 May In transit. Dateline.
Monday 10 May Arrive Auckland, 7:30am Tetra Waldorf Apts, 85 Wakefield Street, Auckland. Confirmed.
http://www.waldorf-tetra.co.nz/
Tuesday 11 May In Auckland-Day 1 Tetra Waldorf Apts, 85 Wakefield Street, Auckland.
http://www.waldorf-tetra.co.nz/

Wednesday 12 May Auckland to Wellington
Driving Distance: 638km/396miles.
Monvie Apartments, 11-21 Holland Street, Wellington. Confirmed.
http://www.monviecentral.co.nz/
Train Fri-Sun only as it's off-peak. Dep Auckland 7:25am. Arr Wellington 7:25pm. NZ$129.
Bus Dep 7:30am. Arr 6:50pm. Daily. Service 7001. NZ$46.
Possibly rental car but this really needs 2 days.
Thursday 13 May In Wellington-Day 1 Monvie Apartments, 11-21 Holland Street, Wellington
http://www.monviecentral.co.nz/
Turnbull Library. Contact: Dr Ruth Lightbourne.
Friday 14 May In Wellington-Day 2 Monvie Apartments, 11-21 Holland Street, Wellington
http://www.monviecentral.co.nz/

Saturday 15 May Wellington to Picton, South Island, then to Christchurch.
Driving Distance (Picton-CC): 337km/209miles.
Chateau Blanc Suites, Cranmer Square, Christchurch. Ferry Dep Wellington 8:25am. Arr Picton 11:35am or Dep 2:05pm. Arr 5:15pm. Sr fare NZ$53. With a car: NZ$190. http://www.interislander.co.nz)
Larsens return from Tucson.
Sunday 16 May In Christchurch-Day 1 Chateau Blanc Suites, Christchurch. For Antarctic sights to see, go to: http://www.antarctic-circle.org/llagNEW.htm
Monday 17 May In Christchurch-Day 2 Chateau Blanc Suites, Christchurch. Canterbury Museum, Monday or Tuesday
Tuesday 18 May In Christchurch-Day 3 Chateau Blanc Suites, Christchurch. Canterbury Museum, Monday or Tuesday.
To Akaroa (Bus or rental car. Distance=82km/51 miles) and/or Lyttelton (bus).
Wednesday 19 May Christchurch to Dunedin
Driving Distance: 361km/224miles.
Chateau Blanc Suites, Christchurch. Hotel in Dunedin, yet to be booked. InterCity Bus Christchurch-Dunedin Service 8137 Dep 2pm. Arr 8:06pm. Earlier bus leaving at 8am, arriving 1:45pm.
No train service anymore.
Thursday 20 May In Dunedin-Day 1 Chateau Blanc Suites, Christchurch. Hotel in Dunedin, yet to be booked. Luci heads for Australia.
Friday 21 May Dunedin to Christchurch.
Driving Distance: 361km/224miles.
Chateau Blanc Suites, Christchurch. InterCity Bus Dunedin-Christchurch Service 8110. Dep 7:45am. Arr 1:45pm.
Saturday 22 May Fly Christchurch to Brisbane. At the Packer's Christchurch to Brisbane: ANZ #205 Dep 3:40pm. Arr 5:30pm.
Sunday 23 May In Brisbane-Day 1 At the Packer's
Monday 24 May In Brisbane-Day 2 At the Packer's
Tuesday 25 May To Noosa At Munna Beach Apartments
Wednesday 26 May In Noosa-Day 1 At Munna Beach Apartments
Thursday 26 May In Noosa-Day 2 At Munna Beach Apartments
Friday 28 May In Noosa-Day 3 At Munna Beach Apartments
Saturday 29 May In Noosa-Day 4 At Munna Beach Apartments
Sunday 30 May In Noosa-Day 5 At Munna Beach Apartments
Monday 31 May Noosa to Armidale
Driving Distances: Brisbane to Armidale 465km/289miles.
Rental car. Use from Brisbane to Sydney.
Accommodation yet to be arranged. Hertz quotes A$59.95/day for Toyota Yaris, pick up in Brisbane 10am 31 May, drop off 2 June in Sydney. But could go Brisbane-Armidale-Canberra-Sydney. Rental for 7 days 31 May-6 June Hertz AUD254.54. On 18 March up to AUD297.29.
http://vroomvroomvroom.com.au
Tuesday 1 June In Armidale. One full day to work in archives.
Accommodation yet to be arranged.
Wednesday 2 June Armidale to Sydney
Driving Distances: Armidale to Sydney 506km/314miles.
Perhaps at Barb or Ray's.
Thursday 3 June In Sydney-Day 1 Perhaps at Barb or Ray's. Perhaps keep car for two days and do things in outlying suburbs.
Friday 4 June In Sydney-Day 2 Perhaps at Barb or Ray's.
Saturday 5 June Sydney to Canberra
Driving Distance: 311km/193miles.
University House?
Sunday 6 June In Canberra-Day 1 University House?
Monday 7 June In Canberra-Day 2 University House?
Tuesday 8 June In Canberra-Day 3 University House?
Wednesday 9 June Canberra to Sydney
Driving Distance: 311km/193miles.
Perhaps at Barb or Ray's. Return car
Thursday 10 June Sydney-Day 1 Perhaps at Barb or Ray's.
Friday 11 June Sydney-Day 2 Perhaps at Barb or Ray's. Charles Swithinbank arrives Adelaide.
Saturday 12 June Sydney to Adelaide Charles Swithinbank departs Adelaide. The Indian Pacific. Great Southern Railway. Dep 14:55 (2:55pm) Sat, Arr 3:05pm Sun. A$142 for seat (Backpacker rate). Booking reference #: 3358620. http://www.gsr.com.au
Sunday 13 June On train. Arrive Adelaide 6:40pm Mercure Grosvenor Hotel, 125 North Terrace. 3 nights. Total: A$325. Reservation #: E33-0TLN
http://www.mercuregrosvenorhotel.com.au

Monday 14 June Adelaide-Day 1 Mercure Grosvenor Hotel
Tuesday 15 June Adelaide-Day 2 Mercure Grosvenor Hotel Tentative appointment, Mark Pharaoh, SAM, 10am.
Possibly rent a car to go to outlying areas including Wilkins' birthplace.
Wednesday 16 June Adelaide to Melbourne At Janie's? The Overland. Great Southern Railway. Dep 7:40 Arr 18:40 (6:40pm) A$49 for seat (Backpacker rate). Booking reference #: 3358651. http://www.gsr.com.au
Thursday 17 June Melbourne-Day 1 At Janie's?
Friday 18 June Melbourne-Day 2 At Janie's?
Saturday 19 June Melbourne to Hobart At the Bain's Spirit of Tasmania. Dep 7:30pm. Arr Devonport 6am Sunday. Ocean Recliner. $69.
Devonport to Hobart. Daily bus. Tassielink Coaches. Dep 8am. Arr 12 noon.
http://www.tassielink.com.au/
Sunday 20 June In Hobart-Day 1 At the Bain's
Monday 21 June In Hobart-Day 2 At the Bain's Antarctic Visions: Cultural Perspectives on the Southern Continent conference. University of Tasmania.
Ring Ian Morrison.
Tuesday 22 June In Hobart-Day 3 At the Bain's Antarctic Visions: Cultural Perspectives on the Southern Continent conference. University of Tasmania
Wednesday 23 June In Hobart-Day 4 At the Bain's Antarctic Visions: Cultural Perspectives on the Southern Continent conference. University of Tasmania
Thursday 24 June In Hobart-Day 5 At the Bain's 24th or 25th: Tasmanian Archive and Heritage Office. Contact: Ian Morrison
Friday 25 June In Hobart-Day 6 At the Bain's 24th or 25th: Tasmanian Archive and Heritage Office. Contact: Ian Morrison
Saturday 26 June Fly Hobart to Melbourne Hotel at airport yet to be booked.
Check-in via internet from Bains with Virgin 24 hrs or less before flight.
Qantas #1012. Dep 4:50pm. Arr 6:05pm
Sunday 27 June Fly Melbourne to LAX Qantas #934. Dep 10:15am. Arr 7:30am.
" Fly LAX to Boston Virgin America #364. Dep 11:35am. Arr 8:00pm.
" Somehow get from Boston to Jaffrey. Possibly next day. Larsens might transport. If overnight, perhaps at Pokornys or Sgarzis.